Recently, I ran a creative writing workshop with teenagers in Melbourne’s north. We wrote a collaborative story on a topic of their choice. Below are the inspiring and unrelenting voices of our youth.
 

 

Why do people think it’s wrong?

            It’s still love.
            I get why Catholics or Christians think it is because they believe in their religion and their God. But why do the others think it’s wrong to be gay?
            I’m angry. Sad. I’m so disgusted that my stomach feels like it’s eating itself.
            I can’t even kiss my girlfriend in public because of these people. Just today, someone walked up to me and said, “please don’t do that, it makes me feel sick. It doesn’t look right.”
            “Deal with it,” I said. “You’re not better than me.”
            Love is love, be it with a girl and girl or boy and boy.
            There are all sorts of bizarre things in this world. Some people worship cows.
            So how is our love wrong?
